What are the hours of operation of the Nasdaq?

What are the Nasdaq hours?

The New York Stock Exchange and the Nasdaq Stock Market in the United States trade regularly from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET, with the first trade in the morning creating the opening price for a stock and the final trade at 4:00 p.m. providing the day’s closing price. But trading also occurs outside of those times.

Does Nasdaq have extended hours?

Extended trading on Nasdaq.com refers to the Pre-Market activity shown on the site from 4:15 – 9:30 AM (actual trading starts at 4:00 AM EST) every trading day and the After-Hours activity shown on the site from 4:15 – 6:30 PM every trading day (actual trading starts at 4:00 PM EST).

What time does trading start on Nasdaq?

For Nasdaq, pre-market trading hours are 4:00 am to 9:30 am, Eastern Time Zone. After hours runs from 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm, Eastern Time Zone. Certain brokers have different pre-market and after hours trading times (for example, TD Ameritrade limits pre-market trading between 8:00 am and 9:15 am).

Is the Nasdaq Open 24 7?

Commodity and stock index futures also can be traded virtually around the clock every trading day. … Meanwhile, Nasdaq Stock Market, owned by Nasdaq OMX Group Inc. NDAQ, +1.38% , is open from 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. in pre-open and between 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. in the after-hours.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Can I invest in Nasdaq from Zerodha?

What time is Premarket PST?

US Stock Market Hours for Equity and Equity Options

Pre-Market Trading Session Open Close
Mountain Standard Time (MST) – Denver 5:00 AM 7:30 AM
Pacific Standard Time (PST) – Los Angeles 4:00 AM 6:30 AM
Alaskan Standard Time (AKST) – Alaska 3:00 AM 5:30 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) – Hawaii 1:00 AM 3:30 AM

Why do stocks spike after hours?

Why Stocks Move After Hours

It may occur in stocks that do many millions in volume a day. These high volume stocks may regularly have some aftermarket activity each day. … Ultimately, stocks move after hours for the same reason they move during the normal session — people are buying and selling.

Can I sell stock after-hours?

After-hours trading takes place after the trading day for a stock exchange, and it allows you to buy or sell stocks outside of normal trading hours. Typical after-hours trading hours in the U.S. are between 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. ET.

Who can trade stocks at 4am?

Nasdaq’s pre-market operations let investors start trading at 4 a.m. Eastern time. Electronic communication networks (ECNs) enable investors to trade stocks during aftermarket hours between 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Expanded trading hours let investors instantly react to corporate news and political events.

What time does Nasdaq open CET?

The NASDAQ Stock Exchange is open Monday through Friday from 9:30am to 4:00pm Eastern Daylight Time (GMT-04:00).